2018 Election Coverage


Democratic incumbent Amy Klobuchar defeated Republican challenger Jim Newberger by (60 to 36 percent) in the race for U-S Senate.

Democrat Tim Walz is Minnesota’s next governor after defeating Republican Jeff Johnson 54 to 42 percent.

Democrat Keith Ellison won an hard-fought battle for Minnesota attorney general, defeating Republican Doug Wardlow by four-points (49 to 45 percent).

Democrat Tina Smith defeated Karin Housley 53 to 42 percent for the U-S Senate seat formerly held by Al Franken.

DFLers now have control of the Minnesota House of Representatives, while the GOP has held the Senate. Republican House Speaker Kurt Daudt conceded the majority to House DFL Leader Melissa Hortman, who is expected to be elected the next Speaker. Republicans kept control of the Senate by winning a special election, preserving their one-vote majority.

U.S. Representative Collin Peterson is headed back to Washington.
DFLer Peterson narrowly defeated his Republican challenger Dave Hughes. This will be Peterson’s 15th term in office.

Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Margaret Chutich will retain her seat on the bench. She won the only contested Supreme Court race in the state, defeating challenger Michelle MacDonald. She has served on the Supreme Court since 2016.

Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon is declaring victory for a second term in office. The DFL-endorsed incumbent defeated John Howe and William Denney.

It was almost an entirely democrat victory in Minnesota yesterday, however Pete Stauber is the second Republican to win the Eighth Congressional District seat in more than 70 years. Stauber flipped the district for Republicans yesterday, defeating Joe Radinovich. Stauber takes the seat from retiring U.S. Representative Rick Nolan.

Democrats took two U-S House seats away from Republicans in Minnesota last night.

Angie Craig unseated Congressman Jason Lewis in the Second District and Dean Phillips beating incumbent Erik Paulson in the Third. The First Congressional District race is still officially undecided with Republican Jim Hagedorn leading Democrat Dan Feehan by a scant one-half of one percent.

Democrats retained their seat in Minnesota’s Fifth Congressional District with Ilhan Omar becoming the first Somali-American elected to the U-S House. And Sixth District Representative Tom Emmer, Seventh District Congressman Collin Peterson and Fourth District D-F-L incumbent Betty McCollum all won re-election Tuesday night.

Neil Peterson County Commissioner District 3, 65.20%
Darryl Tveitbakk County Commissioner District 4, 99.17%
Kenneth “Terry” Olson County Auditor/Treasurer, 99.47%
Julie A. Hansen County Recorder, 99.68%
Raymond D. Kuznia, 98.99%
Seamus P. Duffy County Attorney, 98.71%
Ricky A Peterson Soil and Water Supervisor District, 2 99.63%
Brenda S. Szymanski Soil and Water Supervisor District, 3 99.74%
Brian Holmer Mayor (Thief River Falls) 96.41%
Steven Narverud Council Member at Large, 66.56%
Curtis Howe Council Member Ward 1, 97.62%
Mike Lorenson Council Member Ward 3, 43.78%
Rachel Prudhomme Council Member Ward 5, 95.94%


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here